Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (2022)

Overview

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (1)
The Tax Commissioner is responsible for the registration of motor vehicles and the collection of all registration fees, taxes and penalties specified by Georgia Law. Title Ad valorem taxes or Ad Valorem taxes, if due, are collected when the vehicle is registered.

All motor vehicles 1986 and newer must be titled (not applicable to trailers weighing less than 2000 lbs.)

Vehicles purchased from an individual or business (not a dealership) must be registered within 7 days of the purchase date.

Vehicles purchased from a dealership or individual must be registered within 30 days of the purchase date or late fees and penalties will apply.

Individuals moving to Georgia have 30 calendar days after establishing their residency to register their vehicles. However, if your out-of-state registration is not current, you should come to the Cherokee County Tag office as soon as possible.

Online Service Center for Tags - Click here

  • Renew Tags
  • Cancel Registration
  • Change Address
  • Insurance Fine
  • TAVT Estimator
  • Insurance Status
  • Title Status
  • Pre Apply for Tag and Title

Renewal Options
  1. Kiosks
  2. Online at DRIVES e-Services
  3. Mail your renewal to 2780 Marietta Hwy, Canton, GA 30114
  4. Visit one of our two locations.
***A Valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia Identification card is required as personal identification when you title or register or make other changes to your account. Georgia Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division uses the Georgia driver's license number as an account number so that all vehicles owned or leased by an individual can be consolidated in one account.

**An important note to remember when titling a vehicle - motor vehicles are covered under the privacy act in Georgia and no one but the registered owner can process transactions for the vehicle. If the vehicle is in a spouses name you will not be able to process transactions on that vehicle unless you have a limited Power of Attorney.***

Disabled Person's Plate and Placard

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (2) Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (3)
Disabled Person's License Plate

To obtain a Disabled Person's license plate, an MV-9D (Disabled Person's Parking Affidavit) must be completed by a Georgia-licensed healthcare practitioner and be notarized. The licensed healthcare practitioner must designate on the MV-9D form if the disability is temporary or permanent. For a disabled person's license plate to be issued, the disability must be permanent. Bring the completed form along with your Georgia driver's license or Georgia ID Card with a current Cherokee County address to any Cherokee County Tag office. The Disabled Person's license plate cost is $20.00 plus any other fees which apply, including ad valorem or TAVT tax. If the Vehicle currently has a valid Georgia license plate and the disabled person is requesting a disabled person license plate for that same vehicle, the Georgia license plate must be returned to the tag office. If it is not returned, a disabled persons license plate cannot be issued.

Disabled Person's Placard To obtain a Disabled Person's placard (which hangs from the rear-view mirror), an MV-9D (Disabled Person's Parking Affidavit) must be completed by a Georgia-licensed healthcare practitioner and be notarized. Bring the completed form along with your Georgia driver's license or Georgia ID card with a current Cherokee County address to any Cherokee County Tag Office. The licensed healthcare practitioner must designate on the form MV-9D wheather the disability is temporary or permanent. Temporary permits are issued for six months. To renew a temporary placard, a newly completed form must be submitted. Permanent placards must be replaced every four years but do not require the submittal of a new MV-9D form. To qualify for the license plates, the disability must be permanent. To renew a permanent placard, the person who initially was issued the permanent placard must bring the permanent placard they currently have along with his/her Georgia Driver's license or Georgia ID card to any Cherokee County Tag Office.

New Residents to Georgia

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (4)

Please note that vehicles new to the State must be registered within 30 days of the day you move to GA. Out of State tags expire 30 days after you move to GA, regardless to the date shown on the tag. Only two exceptions apply, non-resident military personnel and full-time college students.

Payment of title tax is required on most title transactions.

Individuals moving to Georgia have 30 calendar days after establishing their residency to register their vehicles. However, if your out-of-state registration is not current, you should come into a Cherokee County Tag Office as soon as possible.

Upon registering the vehicle you will pay the Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT), which is a one-time title tax of 3.00%. This amount is due upon titling any motor vehicle. For an estimate of this fee you can click here to be directed to the TAVT calculator on the Georgia Dept. of Revenue website.

  • If you have a lienholder: The Georgia title will be mailed to the lienholder on file.
  • If you do not have a lienholder: The Georgia title will be mailed to the registered owner at the address on file.
When your vehicle requires a Georgia title, you will be unable to register your vehicle and obtain a Georgia license plate (tag) without applying for a title at the time of registration.

The following is a list of items you will need to bring into a Cherokee County Tag Office.

  • Original out-of-state title issued in your name. OR
  • If you have moved into Georgia from another state and your lender or leasing company is holding your out-of-state title, you must complete and sign a Statement of Title Held by Lien Holder or Leasing Company (Form T-17) and submit it with your original valid out-of-state registration certificate in lieu of your title. Please note : If you are coming from Missouri, Kentucky, Montana, Maryland, New York, Michigan, Oklahoma, Minnesota or Wyoming you must have the title to register.
  • If the vehicle is leased, you will also need an original notarized power of attorney from the leasing company and the lease agreement (with the name and address of the leasing company).
  • Title Application (MV-1) signed by all owners while at the tag office or an original notarized power of attorney (Form T-8) for any owner who is not present.
  • Valid, current registration from the former state, or purchase contract.
  • Valid Georgia Insurance.
  • Date the owner moved to Georgia.
  • Current mileage.
  • Current Georgia Emissions Certificate, if applicable.
  • Valid Georgia driver's license or valid Georgia identification card for each owner.
  • If any owner is not present, a legible photocopy of the valid Georgia driver’s license or valid Georgia identification card is required.
  • If you need information on how to obtain a Georgia driver’s license or Georgia identification card, click here.
Once your vehicle is registered in Georgia, you are required to renew your vehicle's registration by the vehicle's renewal deadline each year, which is the first registered owner’s birthday.

Vehicle Registration

Renew car tags online, click here.

Questions regarding car tags? Please email Christina Bennett at cmbennett@cherokeega.com.
_______________________________________________________________________

Forms of payment accepted in Office: Cash, Check or Certified Funds
_______________________________________________________________________

PLEASE NOTE: THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE MUST PRESENT A VALID GA DRIVERS LICENSE

Cherokee County Tax Commissioner
2780 Marietta Hwy
Canton, GA 30114
Canton Hours are Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00 and some Saturday 8:00-11:45
(678) 493-6400

Woodstock Annex Office
155 Towne Lake Pkwy
Woodstock, GA 30188
Hours are Monday - Friday 8:00-5:00
770-924-4099

Vehicle owners must renew their registration and pay the ad valorem tax (if applicable) every year with the Tax Commissioner during the 90 day period which ends on their birthday. If the vehicle is owned by more than one person, then the birthday of the person's name that appears first on the title is used to determine the registration period.

Newly acquired vehicles must be registered within 7 days, if purchased from an individual; at which time the Title Ad Valorem Tax will be paid. The owner would then come back in during the 60 day period which ends on their birthday to pay the annual tag fee. Effective January 1, 2000, all Cherokee County residents must have an emission test done annually on their vehicle prior to purchasing their tag. New MSO vehicles are exempt from the emission tests for the first three years.

Newly acquired vehicle purchased from a dealer, the dealer will issue you a temporary tag to give them time to process the title. Once the title has been processed you will be able to come in and purchase your tag, if the dealer did not do so with your purchase.

Any new resident registering in Cherokee County must have a current emission before registering vehicles. An annual passing GA emissions test is required prior to renewing or registering your vehicle. For (2023 renewals, 1999-2020) 2022 renewals, 1998-2019 year models, excluding diesels, alternative fuel vehicles and any vehicle weighing more than 8500 lbs.

Senior Citizens can apply for a waiver of the emission, if they are over 65 years old and the vehicle is 10 years old or older, and driven less than 5,000 miles annually.

Even more emission information is available on the Georgia's Clean Air Force website.

Vehicle Renewal

Registrations must be processed in the county where the vehicle owner resides.
If you need an address change, you are unable to renew online.*

Internet: Be first in line -- every time. To renew online click here.
Credit cards accepted online are American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa.

A tag cannot be renewed online if the vehicle:

  • Does not have a valid Georgia Insurance policy, which must be electronically transmitted to the state database by the insurance company
  • Requires an emissions test and one has not been completed
  • Weighs over 8,500 pounds
  • Is covered by a Georgia Fleet insurance policy
  • Is covered by a Georgia self-insured insurance policy
  • Currently has a specialty license plate that requires supporting documentation in order to renew the registration (e.g., military, certified firefighters and amateur radio plates)
  • Registered owner needs an address change.
The vehicle registration must be renewed by the renewal date each year or tax and tag penalties will be assessed.

Tag Renewal Kiosk -- renew anytime from 6:00 A.M. - 1:00 A.M. Renew your tag at the tag renewal kiosk and walk away with your decal in minutes. You will need your valid Driver's license or your tag number to renew. There is a transaction fee of $4.95, up to 10 vehicles can be renewed in a single transaction and a 2.25% convenience fee will be charged on the total due.

Credit/Debit cards accepted are American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa.


The vehicle registration must be renewed by the renewal date each year or tax and tag penalties will be assessed.

Mail or Drop box If renewing by mail, renewal payments should be mailed a week prior to the renewal date to allow time for processing. All renewal requirements must be met before the renewal can be processed. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned to the owner and tax/tag penalties will be applied.

Payment methods include personal checks, money orders or cash.

An emission inspection, if applicable, must be completed prior to mailing in your renewal to receive a current year decal.

Renewal payments can be mailed to:

Cherokee County Tax Commissioner
2780 Marietta Hwy
Canton, GA 30114

Checks and money orders should be made payable to "Cherokee County Tax Commissioner."

Cherokee County tag offices cannot accept two-party checks.

Mailed-in renewal payments must be postmarked by the United States Postal Service on or before the renewal date or tax and tag penalties will apply.

Title Ad Valorem Tax

Motor Vehicle Title Tax Georgia has two types of motor vehicle property taxes:
  • TAVT – Applies to most vehicles purchased March 1, 2013 or later, with a few exceptions
  • Annual Ad Valorem Tax – Applies to most vehicles purchased prior to March 1, 2013 and non-titled vehicles
Calculate your title tax here.

The current TAVT rate is 6.6% of the fair market value of the vehicle.

Tavt rate of 1% for vehicles model years 1963 through 1985.

TAVT Exceptions

  • Non-titled vehicles and trailers are exempt from TAVT – but are subject to annual ad valorem tax.
  • New residents to Georgia pay TAVT at a rate of 3%.
  • Family transfer - Form MV-16 Affidavit to Certify Immediate Family Relationship required:
    • If the vehicle is currently in the TAVT system, the family member can pay a reduced TAVT rate of .5% of the fair market value of the vehicle.
  • Some Military Veterans are exempt from TAVT (Form MV-30 Georgian’s Veteran Affidavit for Relief and Local TAVT fees and Military Documentation required):
    • Disabled Veterans compensated at 100%
    • Prisoners of War
    • Purple Heart Recipients
    • Medal of Honor Recipients
    Public Safety-First Responders – allowed a TAVT exemption on a maximum of $50,000 fair market value combined for all vehicles he or she registers during any three-year period
    • Required documentation: MV-PSFR-TAVT Public Safety First Responder State and Local Title Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Application and award letter from the Department of Administrative Services for individual or spouse receiving payments for indemnification for death or disability
    • Applies to law enforcement officer, fireman, publicly employed emergency medical technician, or a surviving spouse of such a first responder, receiving indemnification payments from the Department of Administrative Services due to certain injuries or death occurring in the line of duty
**An important note to remember when titling a vehicle - motor vehicles are covered under the privacy act in Georgia and no one but the registered owner can process transactions for the vehicle. If the vehicle is in a spouses name you will not be able to process transactions on that vehicle unless you have a limited Power of Attorney.***

Click here for the Limited Power of Attorney.

Vehicle Insurance

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (5) Insurance Requirements Insurance cards are not acceptable proof of insurance coverage for motor vehicle transactions at the Cherokee County Tag Office. Your insurance company is required to electronically transmit proof of insurance directly to the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) database.

Acceptable Proof of Insurance When the Georgia registration system does not indicate valid proof of insurance, the following is acceptable:

  • An original 30-day Insurance binder with an effective date that is less than 30 days. Faxed copies are accepted.
  • The original declaration page from your existing auto insurance policy, if the vehicle purchase occurred within the last 30 days.
  • A Georgia Fleet insurance card with the words "Georgia Fleet" on it.
  • A Self-Insured insurance card and a Certificate of Self Insurance.
Lapse of Insurance, Suspensions and Waivers A lapse in insurance occurs when a vehicle has not carried valid Georgia liability insurance coverage for a period of more than 10 days. Your insurance company reports the lapse to the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR), and a notice of pending registration suspension is generated and mailed by the DOR. A lapse will result in $25 pending-suspension fee which must be paid within 30 days. If the $25 pending-suspension fee is not paid by the due date, the registration will be suspended by the DOR. To reinstate the registration, the vehicle must have valid Georgia insurance coverage, the $25 pending-suspension fee plus a $60 reinstatement fee must be paid, as well as any other registration fees, ad valorem taxes or penalties due. Any additional lapses in coverage and/or suspensions will result in additional fines and penalties including cancellation of the vehicle's registration. It is advised that you cancel your registration before you cancel your insurance policy to avoid any suspensions or fees. Taxes must be current and there must not be any outstanding fees. The registered owner of the vehicle may apply for a one-time waiver of the pending-suspension and/or the reinstatement fee if certain criteria are met. To apply for this waiver, the registered owner of the vehicle must complete Form MV-18J Application for Voluntary Registration Cancellation. The affidavit can only be submitted if the vehicle has not been driven for one of the following reasons:
  • It was sold/transferred or the lease was terminated.
  • It was registered in another state.
  • It was wrecked, salvaged or junked.
  • It was repossessed or stolen.
  • It was not operated because it was inoperable, being stored or used seasonally.
  • The sole, registered owner of the vehicle was on active military duty stationed outside of Georgia.
The dates entered on the affidavit must match the insurance coverage laspse dates. If you feel you may qualify for a one-time waiver of the pending-suspension and/or the reinstatement fee, the application for Voluntary Registration Cancellation must be filled out in its entirety and can be submitted, along with a copy of your driver's license, via mail to the following address:

Cherokee County Tax Commissioner
2780 Marietta Hwy, Canton, GA 30114

General Titling

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (6)
Title applications must be processed in the county where the owner resides.
A bill of sale is required for all title transfers.
**An important note to remember when titling a vehicle - motor vehicles are covered under the privacy act in Georgia and no one but the registered owner can process transactions for the vehicle. If the vehicle is in a spouse's name you will not be able to process transactions on that vehicle unless you have a limited Power of Attorney from them.***

Click here for the Limited Power of Attorney.


Register a Recently-Purchased Vehicle from a Dealership In most cases when you purchase a vehicle from a dealership, the dealer will submit the necessary documents to apply for your title. The title application must be processed prior to the registration being issued or at the same time the registration is issued. The Dealership will provide you with a printed Temporary Operating Permit, that is valid for 45 days from purchase date.

After the title application has been processed the dealer will send you a copy of the title receipt and you will need to visit a Cherokee County Tag Office to register your vehicle.

If you have not received a copy of the title receipt and it has been at least 25 days since the date of your purchase, contact the dealer to determine the status of your title application.

Note: Under normal circumstances, the information provided below is required to register a vehicle. Other documentation may be required upon review of the paperwork.

You will need to bring the following items when visiting one of our offices:

  • Valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card
  • Validated receipt that the Georgia title has been applied for
  • Current certificate of registration for tag transfer, if applicable
  • Valid Georgia Insurance
  • Current Georgia Emissions Certificate, if applicable
  • An original notarized power of attorney (Form T-8) from any owner who will not be present at the time of registration
  • If the vehicle is leased, you must provide the original lease agreement that includes the names and addresses of the leasing company and the lessee(s)

Register a Recently-Purchased Vehicle from an Individual or Business Payment of title tax is required on most title transactions. Without a Lien If you purchase a vehicle from an individual or business (other than a dealer) in a casual/private sale, you are required to apply for the Georgia title and registration within seven business days of the purchase date.

A registration can be issued along with the application for the Georgia title or after the application has been processed.

Note: Under normal circumstances, the information provided below is required to register a vehicle. Other documentation may be required upon review of the paperwork.

When the seller has provided a title properly signed over to you bring the following items:

  • Valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card.
  • Copy of the Bill of Sale from the seller dated within seven business days
  • Original Certificate of Title
  • Current certificate of registration for tag transfer, if applicable
  • Valid Georgia Insurnace
  • Current Georgia Emisisons Certificate, if applicable
  • An original notarized power of attorney ( Form T-8 ) from any owner who will not be present at the time of registration.
With a Lien If you purchased your vehicle from an individual or business and the Certificate of Title is in the possession of a bank or other financial institution, you must still apply for the Georgia title and registration within seven business days. If you are financing the vehicle, the lien holder normally will submit the necessary documents to apply for your title. After the title application has been processed, the lien holder will send you a copy of the title receipt and you will need to visit a Cherokee County Tag Office to register your vehicle.

If you have purchased your vehicle from an individual or business and there is a lien involved and the bank or financial institution does not provide the title within the seven day period, then you will not be able to title or register the vehicle. In certain situations you may be able to obtain a temporary operating permit.

Note: Under normal circumstances, the information provided below is required to register a vehicle. Other documentation may be required upon review of the paperwork.

When the Certificate of Title is in the possession of a bank or other financial institution bring the following items:

  • Valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card.
  • Copy of the Bill of Sale from the seller dated within seven business days
  • Copy of seller’s registration
  • Valid Georgia Insurance
  • Current Georgia Emissions Certificate, if applicable
  • An original notarized power of attorney ( Form T-8) from any owner who will not be present at the time of registration
  • If the vehicle is leased, you must provide the original lease agreement that includes the names and addresses of the leasing company and the lessee(s)
  • Want to know an estimate of the Title Tax prior to purchasing a vehicle?

Click here to be directed to the Georgia Department of Revenue website for the TAVT calculator, you will need the VIN of the vehicle for the estimate.

Note: Salvage vehicles are not eligible for a Georgia title or registration until they have been rebuilt and passed inspection. For more information on salvage vehicles, visit the Georgia Department of Revenue website.

For information on how to obtain a Georgia driver’s license or Georgia identification card, visit the Department of Drivers Services website.

Drivers Licenses

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (7)

Georgia driver's licenses are issued by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Call 678-413-8400 or visit their website at https://dds.georgia.gov/ for more information.

Register My Homemade Trailer

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (8)
A homemade trailer is required to have a serial plate (referred to as a T-Plate) affixed to the trailer before the trailer can be registered and a license plate (tag) issued. Once affixed to the tongue of the trailer, this T-Plate will serve as the VIN for the trailer. There is a $5.00 charge for the T-Plate.

** If you purchase a manufactured trailer that does not have a VIN displayed, please note it does not qualify for a T-Plate. **
Complete the following to register a homemade trailer:

  • Step 1 - The owner/builder of the trailer needs to visit a Cherokee County Tag Office and bring a valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card. The T-Plate issued and given to the owner (see Step 2) along with a Form T-23 (Homemade Trailer Affidavit) and a Form T-22C (Permission for County-Assigned Serial Number Plate for a Homemade Trailer). The Form T-23 (Homemade Trailer Affidavit) will be completed in full at the time the T-Plate is issued. The top portion of Form T-22C will be completed at the time the T-Plate is issued. The bottom portion of the T-22C will be completed after the T-Plate has been permanently affixed to the tongue of the trailer. There is a $5.00 charge for the issuance of the T-Plate.
  • Step 2 - The owner of the trailer must affix the T-Plate to the tongue of the trailer so that it is easily visible. The T-Plate must be permanently affixed using either pop-rivets or screws. (If screws are used, the heads of the screws must be filed down so the T-Plate can not be removed.)
  • Step 3 - Once the T-Plate is permanently affixed to the tongue of the trailer, the trailer needs to be inspected by a Georgia Law Enforcement Officer. At the time of inspection, the Georgia Law Enforcement Officer will complete the bottom portion of Form T-22C (Permission for County Assigned Serial Number Plate for a Homemade Trailer).
  • Step 4 - Once the inspection has been completed, the owner of the trailer must return both completed forms (Form T-23 & T-22C) to a Cherokee County Tag office along with a valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card. A Georgia license plate can then be issued.
Georgia does not issue titles for homemade trailers.

Emissions Testing

Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (9)
For (2023 renewals, 1999-2020) 2022 renewals, 1998-2019 year models, excluding diesels, alternative fuel vehicles and any vehicle weighing more than 8500 lbs.

An emission inspection must be completed prior to submitting a vehicle renewal to receive a registration decal. Visit http://www.cleanairforce.com/ for additional emission test information

  • Where to Go - Newer vehicles can be inspected at any emission inspection station. Look for an inspection station sign that reads "1996 or Newer Vehicles Welcome" or "All Vehicles Welcome." Vehicle models 1995 or older can only be inspected at stations marked "All Vehicles Welcome."
  • Inspect Early - It's best to get your vehicle inspected four to six weeks before the registration renewal date (the first vehicle owner’s birthday), in the event repairs need to be made. An emission inspection is valid for 12 months or for one registration renewal by the same owner.
  • Providing Proof of Emission Inspection - The emission inspection station that completes the emission testing is required to electronically submit the test results to the Georgia Department of Revenue motor vehicle database. If the emission information is not in the database electronically, submit the original emission certificate to the tag office.
If the Vehicle Does Not Pass the Emission Test It is the owner’s responsibility to renew the vehicle’s registration by the due date to avoid paying tax and/or tag penalties.

A tag and/or decal cannot be issued if the vehicle did not pass the emission test.

If the vehicle does not pass the emission test, the owner(s) should pay any ad valorem taxes due on the vehicle by the renewal due date to avoid paying a 10 percent ad valorem tax penalty.

Please note that if ad valorem taxes are paid on time, but the tag and/or decal cannot be renewed by the due date because of a failed emission test, the state still assesses a tag penalty of $5.

Georgia’s Clean Air Force recommends having your vehicle inspected four to six weeks prior to the registration renewal date in the event repairs need to be made.

For more information on emission testing, visit http://www.cleanairforce.com/

Senior Emission Waiver (Senior Exemption) Senior Exemptions: If you are age 65 or older and are a registered owner of a vehicle 10 model years old or older, and if you drive less than 5,000 miles per year, you may be eligible for a senior exemption. Click Here for a copy of the Senior Exemption Application.

The Cherokee County Tag office process senior emission waivers (exemptions) for Cherokee residents.

Out-of-Area Extensions If you (or a family member) and your Georgia-registered vehicle are temporarily located outside the 13-county emission testing area of Georgia due to school, military or business obligations, you may qualify for an Out-of-Area Extension.

Visit the Georgia Clean Air Force website for applications and information.

Repair Waivers To apply for a repair waiver, visit a Georgia Clean Air Force Center. Locations of these centers, along with general information and requirements, are available at the Georgia Clean Air Force website.

How Do I Fill Out The Title?

**An important note to remember when titling a vehicle - motor vehicles are covered under the privacy act in Georgia and no one but the registered owner can process transactions for the vehicle. If the vehicle is in a spouse's name you will not be able to process transactions on that vehicle unless you have a limited Power of Attorney from them.***

Click here for the Limited Power of Attorney.


Cherokee County GA | Motor Vehicles (10)
Read every title carefully!

Titles from other states will be designed differently, but the information required is often the same.

Erasures and whiteout will void a title. Mistakes may require extra forms to correct what someone wrote incorrectly. If you do not know what to write or do, call us or come in to the office and our clerks can assist you.

Instructions for filling out a title:

  1. Look at the front of the title. Make sure any listed lien holders have filled in box (c).
    * If the lien has not been signed off, you will need a lien release from the previous owner's lien holder.
  2. Flip the title over to the back.
  3. Make sure all owners on the front of the title have printed their names and signed on lines (6) and (7).
  4. Print your full legal name (just like it is on your driver's license) on line (1).
    * If you have changed your name, you will need a court document showing that change (i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree etc.)
  5. Print your current residential address on lines (2) and (3).
    * If you have a different mailing address, you will write that on the title application.
  6. Write the date you purchased the vehicle on line (4).
    * If you make a mistake, any correction adds a $10.00 penalty.
  7. Write the current mileage on line (5).
    * If you make a mistake, STOP. We have an affidavit to correct the problem, do not mark through the mileage.
  8. Print your full legal name on line (8).
  9. Sign your name on line (9).
  10. If you make payments on the vehicle, write the name and address of the person/company to whom you are sending your payments on line (10) and (11).

** Please note that the highlighted section that states Dealerships only, should not have an individuals name in this section. If someone is selling you a vehicle, they can not put your name in that section to transfer ownership. They will have to get the title processed into their name first. **

Return Check Policy (TAGS)

Note: Once a return check has been received, all future payments will be required to be paid with cash or certified funds.
Your tag will be seized if your check is returned. Your tag will be cancelled and seized immediately with no prior notice. You will be charged a $20.00 tag fee for the purchase of a new tag in addition to the $30.00 or 5 percent of the face amount of the check, whichever is greater for the returned check fee.

If the restitution on the return check is not paid by the time allotted it will be turned over to The Magistrate’s Office for the issuance of a warrant.

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Lidia Grady

Last Updated: 06/19/2022

Views: 6442

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (45 voted)

Reviews: 84% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Lidia Grady

Birthday: 1992-01-22

Address: Suite 493 356 Dale Fall, New Wanda, RI 52485

Phone: +29914464387516

Job: Customer Engineer

Hobby: Cryptography, Writing, Dowsing, Stand-up comedy, Calligraphy, Web surfing, Ghost hunting

Introduction: My name is Lidia Grady, I am a thankful, fine, glamorous, lucky, lively, pleasant, shiny person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.