PA Gun Laws | Pennsylvania Concealed & Open Carry Laws (2022)

Pennsylvania Concealed Carry and Open Carry Gun Laws

PA Gun Laws | Pennsylvania Concealed & Open Carry Laws (1)

Pennsylvania State Gun Laws

This article will go into detail about the gun laws in the great state of Pennsylvania. I have lived in this state my entire life and it is one of the more gun friendly states in the union. There are a few states that are even more gun friendly, but at the moment, I am pretty happy with PA gun laws.

It is unfortunate that each state in our union has different laws regarding guns. This means if you travel to another state and want to take your gun with you, you better know their gun laws or you could wind up in some trouble. For example, it is perfectly legal to pack your unloaded firearm in your checked luggage and fly to almost anywhere in the USA with no problems. However, if you fly into New York City with a gun in your luggage, you are breaking the law and could end up in considerable trouble if caught. See How to Fly with a Firearm.

In this article I will focus on the current laws in Pennsylvania.

I will discuss open carry laws and concealed carry laws, how to get a concealed carry permit, where you can and cannot carry your firearm and other details about the gun laws in Pennsylvania.

Please keep in mind that these PA gun laws can change at any time and it is your responsibility as the gun owner to know the laws in the states and counties where you will be carrying your firearm.

Do not base your decision to carry your firearm in Pennsylvania solely on this article. I make no guarantee that this information is accurate at the time you read it, although I will endeavor to keep it up to date and accurate. I am not a lawyer. I am simply providing this information that I have gathered from various trustworthy sources in one place for your convenience.

I will provide links to these sources which are constantly being updated so that you can check with them before you carry your firearm open or concealed in Pennsylvania.

Firearms Legal Protection starting at $9.95/month*

PA Gun Laws | Pennsylvania Concealed & Open Carry Laws (2)
(Video) PA Gun Laws: Carry Laws Part I

FLP is highly regarded and recommended by some of the top names in the self defense firearms industry. At least check them out before you make a decision.

What is an LCF?

Sometimes referred to as an LTCF, it stands for License to Carry Firearms. This is the official name of Pennsylvania’s concealed carry permit. I may refer to is throughout this article as an LCF, permit, license to carry or concealed carry permit. It is all the same thing.

Gun permit related statistics in Pennsylvania.

  • There have been 1.3 million permits issued in PA.
  • Pennsylvania state population is 12.8 million.
  • Percentage of the population with a permit is 10.16%.
  • States that honor the Pennsylvania carry permit 32.
  • Pennsylvania honors 29 other states permits. See Attorney General of PA website for current reciprocity map.
  • Concealed carry permit in Pennsylvania are good for 5 years.
  • Pennsylvania is a “shall issue” state. (Shall- issue means that if you apply for a permit they will issue you one unless there is a legal reason not to. Such as if you are a convicted felon.)

Original Gun Oil

Save 10% + FREE Shipping with Promo Code:SAVEWITHDAVE

Buy Original Gun Oil

(Video) No Guns in Cars in PA - The Legal Brief!

Safe for Synthetic & Polymer Guns: GLOCK, M&P, XD.

I use Original Gun Oil on all my firearms. This product is a C.L.P. (Cleaner, Lube & Protectant all in one) that is Non-Toxic, Non-Staining and Non-Scented, making it safe to use in the house! Veteran-Owned business.

Pennsylvania Open Carry Laws

There is no law prohibiting Open Carry in Pennsylvania. See the restrictions below. You must be at least 18 years of age and you must be a person who is legally allowed to own and possess a firearm.

Open Carry Restrictions (without a Permit)

PA Gun Laws | Pennsylvania Concealed & Open Carry Laws (4)

If you do not possess a PA LCF (License to Carry Firearms) and are not a prohibited person, there is no law stating that you cannot carry a firearm openly in Pennsylvania. The law is very clear that you cannot carry a concealed gun without a permit.

This means that if you decide to carry openly in PA, you will likely draw attention to yourself and may find yourself being stopped and questioned by law enforcement. Although there is no law against open carry in general, there ARE laws against the following without a License to Carry firearms:

  • You cannot open carry a firearm in a vehicle
  • You cannot open carry in the city of Philadelphia
  • You cannot open carry during a declared emergency by the state or municipal government
  • You cannot open carry in a state park

In short, although technically legal, Open Carry in PA is probably not a good idea. My recommendation is to go ahead and get the LCF and avoid the potential hassles.

Restrictions to open carry (with a permit)

If you have the LCF, you can open carry everywhere you can concealed carry. The same restrictions apply here as they do for concealed carry with a permit. See the section below on restrictions to concealed carry.

Pennsylvania concealed carry laws

In Pennsylvania, you must get an LCF in order to carry concealed. You must be at least 21 years of age to get this permit. The permit is honored in every county in PA, although there have been longstanding rumors that you cannot carry in Philadelphia. A concealed carry permit will allow you to carry almost anywhere, except for the following places:

  • Courthouses
  • Correctional Institutions including land or buildings appurtenant (related to, or part of) to them
  • The buildings of, or vehicles used to provide transportation to or from any publicly funded elementary or secondary school. Basically a bus depot and their buses and vans.
  • Detention center or mental hospital

How to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in PA

The cost of a concealed carry permit or renewal in PA is $20. The permit is good for 5 years.

(Video) Concealed carrying during a traffic stop - Do's and Don'ts

Here is a link to the Application for a Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms.

You will need 2 personal references to complete the form. These references cannot be family members.

Fill out the form and take it to your county Sheriffs Dept. with your drivers license or State ID. They will take your picture and collect the fee. They will do a background check and if it passes quickly, your will leave with your license. If not, they will notify you by mail.

That’s it. There are no classes or training of any kind that you are required to take in Pennsylvania. I would highly recommend that you take a defensive handgun course from a professional training facility, such as the 2-day or 4-day Defensive Handgun course at Front Sight Firearms Training Institute outside of Las Vegas, Nevada.

PA Laws Regarding the Sale or Transfer of Firearms

Here is some commonly needed information dealing with the purchase of a gun in Pennsylvania.

Is a permit required to purchase firearms in Pennsylvania?

No permit is needed to purchase a handgun or rifle in PA. You will need have a background check whether you have a valid LCF or not. State Police do have a database of handgun sales and buyers. There is no registration per se, other than this database.

Private-party sales and transfer laws

All sales and transfers between private parties handguns must be done through a licensed dealer or can be done at the county sheriff’s office. All transfers will require a background check.

If the sale or transfer is between spouses, children and their parents, or grandparents and grandchildren, these requirements do not apply.

Important Details You Need to Know When Carrying Concealed in PA

Here are a few critical pieces of information you need to know. Please read these if you are going to be legally carrying a gun and want to do it right!

Duty to Retreat in Pennsylvania?

No. You do not need to retreat from a deadly threat before you resort to using deadly force to defend yourself.

(Video) How to Drive Across Country With a Gun

Can you carry in an establishment that serves and sells alcohol?

Yes. In Pennsylvania there is no law restricting you from carrying in such an establishment. I would encourage you to refrain from drinking alcohol when carrying a firearm. Be the designated driver, your friends will love you for it. See my article on Concealed Carry and Alcohol.

Are “No Guns” signs enforced by law?

No. Businesses that display “No Guns” or “No firearms” signs can only ask you to leave if they somehow find out you are armed. If you do not leave after being asked to leave, then you will be considered trespassing and that is enforceable by the police.

Duty to inform?

PA Gun Laws | Pennsylvania Concealed & Open Carry Laws (5)

No. In Pennsylvania, you are not required to inform a law enforcement officer that you are carrying a firearm if you are stopped for a traffic violation or are questioned by police on another matter.

My advice on this is that it is a good idea to inform the officer in this situation. Never touch or reach for the gun, just hand the officer your permit along with your drivers license or ID. Always have your hands in plain view anytime you are informing an officer about your gun. My reasoning on this is simple.

The sooner the officer knows you are a properly licensed concealed carrier, the better. If you are asked to exit the vehicle, you do not want him to find the gun BEFORE he knows it is legal. This could result in him drawing his weapon on you for his own protection. Police are our friends and we want interactions with them to be respectful and peaceful, so be courteous and let them know you are a good guy or gal.

Concealed Carry Recommendations

I highly recommend joining the USCCA (United States Concealed Carry Association) if you are going to carry a firearm for self defense. USCCA will provide you with critical, up to date information and training. They will also provide you with legal defense if you find yourself in need of legal advice and a lawyer after using deadly force to defend yourself. Please read this article before you start to carry a gun. Why you need self defense insurance.

Additional questions

If you have other questions, please leave them in the comments below and I will do my best to answer them.

I will just leave you with a word of advice. Always use common sense when carrying a handgun, concealed or otherwise. You must never instigate a problem or escalate an issue. If you get into an argument on the street and it ends with you drawing your weapon, you had better be the picture of innocence if you want to claim self defense.

(Video) BUYING YOUR FIRST PISTOL! PA RESIDENTS MOSTLY BUT USEFUL FOR MOST OF THE 50 STATES!

FAQs

Can I open carry in PA with a concealed carry permit? ›

While Pennsylvania has a specific law that requires a License To Carry Firearms for the concealed carry of a firearm, and the carry of firearms in vehicles, the law is silent on the legality of openly carrying a firearm in other situations, making it de-facto legal.

Can a cop stop you for open carry in PA? ›

Law enforcement officers remain permitted to engage in a mere encounter with someone who is open carrying. If they choose not to speak to you, and you have no articulable reasonable suspicion of a crime, you do not have a reason to detain them further.

How many rounds can you legally carry in PA? ›

What Are the PA Gun Laws for Magazine Capacity? Currently, Pennsylvania does not have any laws on the books that limit magazine capacity or that ban the purchase, sale, possession or use of large capacity magazines.

Can I carry a gun in PA without a permit? ›

Carrying a concealed firearm without a valid Pennsylvania license is against state law. The law is codified at 18 Pa. C.S. 6106 and prohibits a person from carrying a firearm without a proper license.

Is PA a stand your ground state? ›

Like many states, Pennsylvania has a “Stand your Ground” law — also known as a “Shoot First” law — that expands the right to use lethal force in self-defense.

Do I have to tell a cop I have a gun in PA? ›

In Pennsylvania, you are not required to tell a police officer you are carrying a firearm, but you are required to produce the concealed-carry permit if asked.

Is Pennsylvania a stop and ID state? ›

Do I have to show ID when police demand it? Not in Pennsylvania. If you are detained or arrested, you may choose to show ID when police demand it. If you choose not to show ID, you could be detained for a longer time while police attempt to identify you.

Can my spouse carry my gun in PA? ›

It is perfectly acceptable for the wife/husband to carry a gun purchased by their spouse. If the gun is used in self-defense, the fact that it was purchased by the spouse is of no consequence in the self-defense analysis.

Are hollow tips illegal in PA? ›

There is no law that restricts hollow points in Pennsylvania. You can carry them in your weapon legally. It is always important to have the right information so that you do not unknowingly get into trouble and so that you don't relinquish your rights because of some urban legend.

Can I have a loaded magazine in my car in PA? ›

Last updated September 15, 2021 . No person, even the holder of a license to carry a firearm, may carry a loaded long gun in a vehicle.

Can you carry a gun in a bar in Pennsylvania? ›

Perhaps to your surprise, Pennsylvania law does not prohibit an individual from carrying a firearm in a bar or establishment which sells liquor for consumption on the premises. In fact, in Pennsylvania it is not even illegal to drink alcohol while lawfully carrying a firearm.

Did Pennsylvania pass constitutional carry? ›

Not even one of these states has seen the need to reverse the laws. Indeed, none have even held a legislative hearing, let alone a vote, on undoing these laws. A Constitutional carry bill passed both the Pennsylvania House and Senate with bi-partisan support.

What does open carry mean in PA? ›

WHAT IS THE LEGAL BASIS FOR OPEN CARRY IN PENNSYLVANIA? “Open Carry” is a term referring to the right of law abiding citizens 18 or older to display their firearm in public spaces without the need for a permit.

Can a felon live with someone who owns a gun in PA? ›

Felony Gun Possession Laws

In Pennsylvania, inclusive of Bucks County and all counties, a convicted felon cannot own, be in the same place with, or use a firearm, even if the firearm is legal or legally owned by another individual in the household. There is no exception to the rule.

What States Can I use my pa concealed carry permit? ›

Currently, the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming have reciprocity (will honor) the Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms.

Can you conceal carry anywhere in PA? ›

While the carry regulations may differ slightly in different townships and cities, the law covers the whole state. So, as long as you have a legal and valid permit, you can carry anywhere in the state, unless an area is specifically restricted by a local government.

Can you conceal carry in a bar in PA? ›

Perhaps to your surprise, Pennsylvania law does not prohibit an individual from carrying a firearm in a bar or establishment which sells liquor for consumption on the premises. In fact, in Pennsylvania it is not even illegal to drink alcohol while lawfully carrying a firearm.

Can you open carry in PA state parks? ›

There are many regulations related to firearms in state parks; however, if you have your LTCF, you may carry concealed or in a vehicle regardless of those regulations. But keep in mind, you may not open carry in a state park.

Videos

1. Pennsylvania Gov. vetoes bill lifting concealed gun carry permit requirement
(Gambone Law)
2. Texas Holster Law - Open and Concealed Carry in 2021 and 2022
(Armed Attorneys)
3. PA Senate passes MAJOR Gun Rights bill… Constitution carry, Open carry, lowers gun age... WOW
(Langley Outdoors Academy)
4. New permitless conceal carry gun law takes effect Monday in Ohio
(WKYC Channel 3)
5. Supreme Court overturns New York state's concealed carry gun law
(CBS New York)
6. NJ gun owners packing new carry permit classes
(NJ Spotlight News)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Kieth Sipes

Last Updated: 10/01/2022

Views: 6012

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (67 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Kieth Sipes

Birthday: 2001-04-14

Address: Suite 492 62479 Champlin Loop, South Catrice, MS 57271

Phone: +9663362133320

Job: District Sales Analyst

Hobby: Digital arts, Dance, Ghost hunting, Worldbuilding, Kayaking, Table tennis, 3D printing

Introduction: My name is Kieth Sipes, I am a zany, rich, courageous, powerful, faithful, jolly, excited person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.